Tuesday Morning Hive Questions the Coaches

Posted by Josh in Morning Hive |

In the Hive.

Good morning, my loyal Hivesters! I don’t know about you guys, but I’m still on an emotional high after the football team defeated TTUN and capped off their first undefeated season since 2002. It was incredibly fitting that the 2002 National Championship team was at The Game on Saturday to witness this year’s squad stay perfect. As I sat in the north end of the ‘Shoe on Saturday, I couldn’t help but to think of how bittersweet a victory would be. After Ohio State won and I rushed the field with thousands of other fans, that notion became a reality.

This year is certainly a football season that I will never forget as it’s only the 6th time Ohio State has finished the season unbeaten and only the 2nd time in my life, but the fact that this team is ineligible for the postseason truly makes this year a “what could have been” type of season. Without a postseason ban, Ohio State would be playing Nebraska this weekend in the Big Ten Championship Game for a chance to go 13-0 and likely a chance to play Notre Dame in the BCS National Championship Game. But, unfortunately, we’ll never get a chance to find out. Also, without Ohio State having the opportunity to play in the B1GCG and a bowl game, Buckeye Nation will have to wait until August 31, 2013 to watch our beloved football Buckeyes when Ohio State takes on the Buffalo Bulls. But hey, at least we have basketball season to help us kill time before next football season. I’m really excited for this year’s men’s hoops team. They have yet to be tested this season, but that will change tomorrow night when #4 Ohio State travels to Durham, NC to take on the second-ranked Duke Blue Devils. We will have a preview for that contest later today, defenders of our honor.

Now, time to delve into the Hive, okay?

Yesterday, the media and the B1G coaches released their 2012 All-Big Ten Conference Football Teams. There were 6 Buckeyes that made the media first-team–2 on offense, 4 on defense. The Buckeyes on the media first-team include: QB Braxton Miller, OL Andrew Norwell, DL John Simon, LB Ryan Shazier, CB Travis Howard, and CB Bradley Roby.

There were 3 Buckeyes on the second-team: RB Carlos Hyde, OL Jack Mewhort, and DL Johnathan Hankins. Along with the first-teamers and second-teams, 6 OSU football players were Big Ten Honorable Mentions: CJ Barnett, Corey Brown, Christian Bryant, Reid Fragel, Corey Linsley, and Etienne Sabino.

On the coaches’ 2012 All-Big Ten Conference Football Team, there were no Buckeyes on the first-team offense and 3 on the first-team defense: John Simon, Johnathan Hankins, and Bradley Roby. On the second-team, there were 3 Buckeyes on offense and 2 on defense: Braxton Miller, Carlos Hyde, Corey Brown, Ryan Shazier, and Christian Bryant. After viewing these selections, now I know why most B1G coaches’ football teams had bad years: they are terrible judges of talent.

The B1G coaches’ 2012 All-Big Ten Conference Football teams have some questionable selections. Like I mentioned previously, no Buckeyes made the coaches’ All-Big Ten First Team. Apparently, the conference’s highest scoring offense doesn’t deserve to have at least 1 first-team offensive player. What a joke. The fact that Braxton Miller is not the coaches’ first-team quarterback is ridiculous. Taylor Martinez did have more passing yards and passing touchdowns than Braxton, but Miller had more rushing yards and touchdowns than Martinez and the Buckeyes’ QB led his team to a 12-0 season. Also, Miller certainly had more “WOW” plays than Martinez this season. Although we can agree Miller not being a first-team coaches selection is a snub, it may not be the biggest snub on the list for Ohio State.

Sophomore LB Ryan Shazier was a second-teamer on the coaches side. First-team LBs include: Max Bullough (MSU), Michael Mauti (PSU), and Chris Borland (UW). Shazier was 1st in the conference in tackles for loss, 2nd in solo tackles, and 3rd in total tackles. He was ahead of every LB that made the first-team in all three of those categories. Also, Shazier leads the list of Bullough, Mauti, and Borland in sacks and is tied with Mauti for the lead in fumbles forced. Yesterday on Twitter, via Tony Gerdeman, this statistic came up: Ryan Shazier had 17 TFLs and 5 sacks. Coaches’ 1st teamers Michael Mauti and Max Bullough combined for 16 TFLs and 5 sacks. A complete list of media and coaches’ All-Big Ten teams can be seen here.

Braxton Miller won the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year award, John Simon won the Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year award, and Bradley Roby was yet another Buckeye snubbed as Iowa’s Micah Hyde took home the Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year award. Complete Big Ten award winners can be seen here.

Buckeye fans, watch this video! (Warning: cursing)

Until next Tuesday, Go Bucks!


Written by: Josh Stivers | full bio

Josh is a senior communication major at The Ohio State University.


Leave a Reply